top of page
  • linoladies

The Orange Tulip - Part 5

Moving slowly along…

Impression 7 – blue again

Last week I printed the first layer of blue; a bright turquoise for the small flowers, and as a base color for the vase and background panels. Here’s the next darker blue, on the panel behind the small white flowers. Even though this is a reduction print, I didn’t print this color over all the parts that will be darker. I want to use the fewest layers of ink I can manage, to reduce drying time and keep the print from getting shiny with built-up ink.


Impression 8 – Now the darker panels. Again, keeping the buildup to a minimum. The first blue was pure Pthalo Blue, plus extender. Now I’m adding a little more Prussian Blue each time, to darken and dull the color.


Impression 9 – I’m missing a picture here. There should be one showing the first layer of darker blue on the vase. Just enough to make the flowers stand out a little, and start adding a little shading.

Impression 10 – darker shading. I added a touch of Rubine Red to the Prussian Blue mixture.


Impression 11 - Now to darken and dull the vase even more with a plain gray shadow. I’ve only printed a few of these so far. It’s too hot!


Those light green leaves and stems are looking very pale now. That always happens; the darker colors making the light ones seem even lighter than they had at first. But I still have the green block. If I need to darken them, I can. I'll see how they look after the rest of the background and the other vase have been printed.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page